Order Today to Save $100 on Geno 2.0 Next Generation Helix DNA kits (US Kits Only)! Buy Now  
  1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
Books:Books:History:Atlas of Indian Nations
Please select at least one item to add to cart.

Atlas of Indian Nations

Item #6201160
$40.00
$40.00
Quantity
Available, ready to ship.
Please enter a quantity
You must be logged in to add items to your Favorites List.
You must be logged in to add items to your Gift List.
Add to Favorites | Gift Lists
Have Questions? Chat with us or Call 1-888-557-4450

Overview

Atlas of Indian Nations is a comprehensive resource for those interested in Native American history and culture. Told through maps, photos, art, and archival cartography, this is the story of American Indians that only National Geographic can tell. This illustrated atlas is perfect for fans of S. C. Gwynne's captivating book Empire of the Summer Moon, Hampton Side's Blood and Thunder, and National Geographic atlases, as well as those fascinated with the Old West. Organized by region, this encyclopedic reference details Indian tribes' beliefs, sustenance, shelter, alliances and animosities, key historical events, and more. See the linguistic groupings and understand the constantly shifting, overlapping boundaries of the tribes. Follow the movement, growth, decline, and continuity of Indian nations and their lifestyles.

Details

  • Hardcover
  • 320 pages; 300 color and black-and-white photographs
  • 9 1/8" x 10 7/8"
  • © 2014

Author Info

Anton Treuer is professor of Ojibwe at Minnesota's Bemidji State University and editor of the only journal of the Ojibwe language. His nine books include Everything You Wanted to Know About Indians But Were Afraid to Ask, and two were selected as "Minnesota's Best Read of the Year." He has won many awards including from the National Science Foundation, the MacArthur Foundation, the Bush Foundation, and the Guggenheim Foundation.

Reviews

REVIEW SNAPSHOT®

by PowerReviews
Atlas of Indian Nations
 
5.0

(based on 1 review)

Ratings Distribution

  • 5 Stars

     

    (1)

  • 4 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 3 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 2 Stars

     

    (0)

  • 1 Stars

     

    (0)

Reviewed by 1 customer

Displaying review 1

Back to top

(13 of 13 customers found this review helpful)

 
5.0

Excellent book for history fans.

By Beatrix Potter

from Houston, TX

Verified Reviewer

Pros

  • History Detail

Cons

  • none

Best Uses

  • Education

Comments about Atlas of Indian Nations:

Excellent source of Native American history, and has now provided my family with some locations to visit to learn more about each of the nations.

  • Was this a gift?:
  • Yes

Displaying review 1

Back to top