Last Day! SAVE $40 on Geno 2.0! Now only $159.95.    View Details >
  1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content

Books Native American Culture

Books and Islands in Ojibwe Country - Hardcover
Books and Islands in Ojibwe Country - Hardcover
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Travel and Adventure/Travelogues and Memoirs

Setting out with her infant daughter and the baby's father, an Ojibwe spiritual leader and guide, Louise Erdrich embarks on an evocative journey to the islands of her forebearers in southern Ontario. She arrives in a small boat on Lake of the Woods to visit powerful, centuries-old rock paintings that are still read by contemporary Ojibwe as ''teaching and dream guides'' and are appreciated as art works as well.


$20.00
Counting Coup
Counting Coup
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Kids Books and Atlases/Culture

National Geographic presents the amazing life story of Joseph Medicine Crow, the man who begins life as Winter Man. Trained as a warrior by his grandfather, Yellowtail, he bathes in icy rivers and endures the ceremony of ''counting coup''—facing fierce combat with an enemy Sioux boy.


$15.95
Warriors In Uniform
Warriors In Uniform
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Culture, History and Religion/War and Conflict

Native Americans have served in the U.S. military during each of this country's wars, and their stories encompass heroism, tragedy, humor, stoicism, loyalty and conflict. This illustrated history tells the exploits of the last Confederate general—a Cherokee—to lay down his arms, the code talkers who used tribal languages to thwart the enemy in World War II, the first Native American woman to give her life as a soldier, and those serving in Iraq today.


$30.00
Atlas of the Indian Nations
Atlas of the Indian Nations
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Culture, History and Religion/Culture and Religion

Atlas of Indian Nations is a comprehensive resource for those interested in Native American history and culture. Told through maps, photos, art, and archival cartography, this is the story of American Indians that only National Geographic can tell. This illustrated atlas is perfect for fans of S. C. Gwynne's captivating book Empire of the Summer Moon, Hampton Side's Blood and Thunder, and National Geographic atlases, as well as those fascinated with the Old West. Organized by region, this encyclopedic reference details Indian tribes' beliefs, sustenance, shelter, alliances and animosities, key historical events, and more. See the linguistic groupings and understand the constantly shifting, overlapping boundaries of the tribes. Follow the movement, growth, decline, and continuity of Indian nations and their lifestyles.


$40.00
Indian Nations of North America
Indian Nations of North America
(Based on 4 reviews)
Category: Books/Culture, History and Religion/History

Walk with the indigenous people who settled North America —and with their descendants, whose more than 500 tribes range from the Arctic Circle across the Great Plains and to the Eastern Seaboard. Lakota, Cherokee, Navajo, Haida: these groups and many others are profiled in engaging entries and portrayed in magnificent images and maps that authentically evoke each tribe's history and character. Organized into eight geographical regions, this encyclopedic reference gives fascinating details about key tribes within each area: their beliefs, sustenance, shelter, alliances, interaction with nature, historic events, and more. Learn about the spiritual and cultural traditions of Native Americans across the continent. Investigate how and when each tribe came into contact with Europeans, and how their lives changed. This is the definitive, insightful reference on Native Americans, captivating and informative for all who appreciate history, diverse cultures, stunning images, and the artistry of maps.


$40.00