The Aviators tells the saga of three extraordinary aviators—Charles Lindbergh, Eddie Rickenbacker, and Jimmy Doolittle."/>
 
 
Special Offer: Spend over $100 and get the Best of National Geographic v.5 for $20!     View Details >
  1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content

The Aviators - Softcover

$15.95

Price: $15.95

Item#:6201369

Qty: Pre-order, will ship on 11/4/15





You May Also Like

Written by gifted storyteller Winston Groom (author of Forrest Gump), The Aviators tells the saga of three extraordinary aviators—Charles Lindbergh, Eddie Rickenbacker, and Jimmy Doolittle—and how they redefine heroism through their genius, daring, and uncommon courage.


This is the fascinating story of three heroes who defined aviation during the great age of flight. Cleverly interwoven tales of their heart-stopping adventures take us from the feats of World War I through the heroism of World War II and beyond, including daring military raids and survival-at-sea. With the world in peril in World War II, each man set aside great success and comfort to return to the skies for his most daring mission yet. Doolittle, a brilliant aviation innovator, would lead the Tokyo Raid to retaliate for Pearl Harbor. Lindbergh, hero of the first solo flight across the Atlantic, would fly combat missions in the South Pacific. Rickenbacker, World War I flying ace, would bravely hold his crew together while facing near-starvation and circling sharks after his plane went down in a remote part of the Pacific. Groom's rich narrative tells their intertwined stories—from broken homes to Medals of Honor (all three would receive it), barnstorming to the greatest raid of World War II, front-page triumph to anguished tragedy, and near-death to ultimate survival—as all took to the sky, time and again, to become exemplars of the spirit of the "greatest generation." The Aviators will appeal to fans of Unbroken, The Greatest Generation, and Flyboys.


  • Softcover
  • 448 pages; 50 black-and-white photographs
  • 6" x 9"
  • © 2014

Winston Groom is the author of 14 previous books of nonfiction and fiction, including Shiloh 1862, Vicksburg 1863, Patriotic Fire, Shrouds of Glory, Forrest Gump, and Conversations with the Enemy (with Duncan Spencer), which was a Pulitzer Prize finalist. He lives with his wife and daughter in Point Clear, Alabama.


Other Products Related to The Aviators - Softcover

Authentic Aviator Sunglasses
Authentic Aviator Sunglasses
(Based on 12 reviews)
Category: Clothing/Accessories/Sunglasses
These are the classic aviator sunglasses, and the only ones handcrafted to military specifications. Originally issued to U.S. Navy pilots and aircrew, NASA astronauts, and the legendary Blue Angels beginning in 1977. Scratch-resistant, UVA- and UVB-resistant gray lenses are noted for their true color reception. The unique bayonet temples are designed to fit under a helmet, making them just as comfortable with any hat. Hand-polished 24-karat gold-plated frames with virtually unbreakable solder joints.
$149.00
Men's Aviator Vest
Men's Aviator Vest
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Clothing/Men's Clothing/Jackets and Vests

Inspired by the flight jackets worn by WWI aviators and daredevil barnstormers in the 1930s and 40s, our sheepskin vest is an excellent choice for cool weather travel layering. The shearling lining is warm, soft, and wicks away moisture. Full zip-front along with two roomy patch pockets.


Available sizes: Medium, Large, XLarge
$499.00
$399.99
Worlds to Explore - Softcover
Worlds to Explore - Softcover
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Exploration

Polar fleece, titanium, and GPS have forever changed the face of exploration. Today an explorer can make a phone call from the top of Mount Everest and geo-locate himself in the thickest rain forest or the widest desert. Yet despite these advances, few modern adventures get close to the charm and romance of dispatches from the Society's earliest explorers. In those bygone days, the pages of National Geographic were as close as most people could get to high adventure and faraway lands—and here's a chance to recapture them.


$15.95
Fleece-lined Aviator Cap
Fleece-lined Aviator Cap
(Based on 4 reviews)
Category: Clothing/Accessories/Hats

Intrepid WWI aviators and the barnstorming stunt pilots of the 1930s not only defied gravity but also braved subzero temperatures in their open cockpits. Popular ever since a famous cartoon beagle donned one to battle the Red Baron, these fitted caps offer warmth alongside vintage style. Wear the earflaps down, or flip them up and snap in place.


$35.00
$11.99
The Aviators
The Aviators
(Based on 1 review)
Category: Books/Culture, History and Religion/History

From Winston Groom, the best-selling author of Forrest Gump, Shiloh 1862, and Vicksburg 1863, comes the fascinating story of three extraordinary heroes who defined aviation during the great age of flight. These cleverly interwoven tales of their heart-stopping adventures take us from the feats of World War I through the heroism of World War II and beyond, including daring military raids and survival-at-sea, and will appeal to fans of Laura Hillenbrand's Unbroken, Tom Brokaw's The Greatest Generation, and James Bradley's Flyboys.


$30.00
Men's Aviator Hat
Men's Aviator Hat
(Based on 1 review)
Category: Clothing/Accessories/Hats

Intrepid WWI aviators and the barnstorming stunt pilots of the 1930s not only defied gravity but also braved subzero temperatures in their open cockpits. This 100% sheepskin hat will keep you warm in winter’s chilliest and windiest conditions. Wind-resistant sheepskin lined is with thick, fluffy shearling and features tie-down ear flaps along with smaller ear warmers that can be snapped up when you need to be able to hear, or worn down for maximum warmth.


Available sizes: Medium, Large, XLarge
$149.00
$99.99
Satin Aviator Jacket
Satin Aviator Jacket
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Clothing/Men's Clothing/Jackets and Vests

While born of necessity, flight jackets are now an embodiment of cool. This satin aviator jacket from the American outfitter Schott evokes the legendary style of mid-century American airmen. The jacket features the classic extra-deep chest, originally needed to accommodate the flight suit worn underneath. Zippered pockets—side and sleeve—let you keep your phone and wallet right at hand. Knit bottom and knit cuffs keep the warmth in.


Available sizes: Medium, Large, XLarge
$249.00
The Knowledge Book - Softcover
The Knowledge Book - Softcover
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Science and Space

Thousands of years of humankind's most significant ideas and achievements, distilled into just a few hundred pages! This book explains how they're linked and why they're important.


$24.95
Every Planet Has a Place - Softcover
Every Planet Has a Place - Softcover
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Kids Books and Atlases/Science and Space

Look up! Discover that Every Planet Has a Place. The Earth is just one of many planets in our solar system. Why is this the perfect place for us to live? Which are the "gas planets?" And why have we changed what we think of Pluto? Then Zigzag into other questions: what does Earth look like from space? Will I ever live on Mars? What experiment can I do to swing a planet into orbit?


$5.95
Body: The Complete Human - Softcover
Body: The Complete Human - Softcover
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Science and Space
Body engagingly reveals the complex and fascinating systems of the human machine—from head to toe, cells to skin, inner workings to outward appearance. Organized by body system, the chapters offer a balanced combination of basic anatomical and physiological information.


$24.95
The Blue Zones - Softcover
The Blue Zones - Softcover
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Culture, History and Religion/Culture and Religion

Dan Buettner has crossed the globe, from Costa Rica to Italy to Japan and beyond, talking to people who live longest. In the societies he visits, it's no coincidence that the way people interact with each other, shed stress, nourish their bodies, and view their world yields more good years of life.


$14.95
National Geographic Guide to Scenic Highways and Byways, 3rd edition - Softcover
National Geographic Guide to Scenic Highways and Byways, 3rd edition - Softcover
(Based on 1 review)
Category: Books/Travel and Adventure/Travel Best Sellers

Expanded to include all U.S. designated America's Byways and other selected drives in all 50 states, this stunning edition features unique driving tours through virtually every kind of landscape—spectacular coastlines, mountains, lakes, small towns, ranch and farmlands, islands, bays, and river valleys.


$25.00