National Geographic Store

YourAmigo:Books:Culture, History and Religion:History:The Aviators - Softcover
The Aviators - Softcover
Item # 6201369

Video
Price:$15.95
Qty:
Pre-order, will ship on 11/4/15

Overview

Written by gifted storyteller Winston Groom (author of Forrest Gump), The Aviators tells the saga of three extraordinary aviators—Charles Lindbergh, Eddie Rickenbacker, and Jimmy Doolittle—and how they redefine heroism through their genius, daring, and uncommon courage.


This is the fascinating story of three heroes who defined aviation during the great age of flight. Cleverly interwoven tales of their heart-stopping adventures take us from the feats of World War I through the heroism of World War II and beyond, including daring military raids and survival-at-sea. With the world in peril in World War II, each man set aside great success and comfort to return to the skies for his most daring mission yet. Doolittle, a brilliant aviation innovator, would lead the Tokyo Raid to retaliate for Pearl Harbor. Lindbergh, hero of the first solo flight across the Atlantic, would fly combat missions in the South Pacific. Rickenbacker, World War I flying ace, would bravely hold his crew together while facing near-starvation and circling sharks after his plane went down in a remote part of the Pacific. Groom's rich narrative tells their intertwined stories—from broken homes to Medals of Honor (all three would receive it), barnstorming to the greatest raid of World War II, front-page triumph to anguished tragedy, and near-death to ultimate survival—as all took to the sky, time and again, to become exemplars of the spirit of the "greatest generation." The Aviators will appeal to fans of Unbroken, The Greatest Generation, and Flyboys.


Details

  • Softcover
  • 448 pages; 50 black-and-white photographs
  • 6" x 9"
  • © 2014

Author Info

Winston Groom is the author of 14 previous books of nonfiction and fiction, including Shiloh 1862, Vicksburg 1863, Patriotic Fire, Shrouds of Glory, Forrest Gump, and Conversations with the Enemy (with Duncan Spencer), which was a Pulitzer Prize finalist. He lives with his wife and daughter in Point Clear, Alabama.




< Back

This offer expires 7/31/14 at 11:59 p.m. PT and can be modified or canceled at any time. Offer excludes globes, map gifts, puzzle gifts, digital products, framed maps, mounted maps, magazines, Genographic Kits, Road Less Traveled merchandise, CafePress merchandise, 10th Edition of the National Geographic Atlas of the World, Around the World in 125 Years - 3-Volume Collector's Edition Book from TASCHEN, Platinum Atlases, and Weekend Photo Workshops. Discount will be applied at checkout. Cannot be combined with other offers; not valid on previous orders. Applicable for online orders only. Prices not valid in the National Geographic UK Online Store or Road Less Traveled.