Limited Offer: Get the Best of National Geographic Channel 6-DVD Set for only $20 when you spend $100 or more.    VIEW DETAILS >>
  1. Skip to navigation
  2. Skip to content
View Atlas of the Indian Nations image
Zoom

Atlas of the Indian Nations

$40.00

Price: $40.00

Item#:6201160

Qty: Pre-order, will ship on 10/7/14





You May Also Like

Atlas of Indian Nations is a comprehensive resource for those interested in Native American history and culture. Told through maps, photos, art, and archival cartography, this is the story of American Indians that only National Geographic can tell. This illustrated atlas is perfect for fans of S. C. Gwynne's captivating book Empire of the Summer Moon, Hampton Side's Blood and Thunder, and National Geographic atlases, as well as those fascinated with the Old West. Organized by region, this encyclopedic reference details Indian tribes' beliefs, sustenance, shelter, alliances and animosities, key historical events, and more. See the linguistic groupings and understand the constantly shifting, overlapping boundaries of the tribes. Follow the movement, growth, decline, and continuity of Indian nations and their lifestyles.


  • Hardcover
  • 320 pages; 300 color and black-and-white photographs
  • 9 1/8" x 10 7/8"
  • © 2014

Anton Treuer is professor of Ojibwe at Minnesota's Bemidji State University and editor of the only journal of the Ojibwe language. His nine books include Everything You Wanted to Know About Indians But Were Afraid to Ask, and two were selected as "Minnesota's Best Read of the Year." He has won many awards including from the National Science Foundation, the MacArthur Foundation, the Bush Foundation, and the Guggenheim Foundation.


Other Products Related to Atlas of the Indian Nations

Indian Nations of North America
Indian Nations of North America
(Based on 4 reviews)
Category: Books/Culture, History and Religion/History

Walk with the indigenous people who settled North America —and with their descendants, whose more than 500 tribes range from the Arctic Circle across the Great Plains and to the Eastern Seaboard. Lakota, Cherokee, Navajo, Haida: these groups and many others are profiled in engaging entries and portrayed in magnificent images and maps that authentically evoke each tribe's history and character. Organized into eight geographical regions, this encyclopedic reference gives fascinating details about key tribes within each area: their beliefs, sustenance, shelter, alliances, interaction with nature, historic events, and more. Learn about the spiritual and cultural traditions of Native Americans across the continent. Investigate how and when each tribe came into contact with Europeans, and how their lives changed. This is the definitive, insightful reference on Native Americans, captivating and informative for all who appreciate history, diverse cultures, stunning images, and the artistry of maps.


$40.00
National Geographic 9th Edition Atlas of the World - Softcover
National Geographic 9th Edition Atlas of the World - Softcover
(Based on 16 reviews)
Category: Books/Atlases and Reference

Now, in its stunning Ninth Edition, the critically acclaimed National Geographic Atlas of the World reports and examines up-to-the-minute geopolitical and environmental changes through detailed, accurate maps and beautiful, engaging design that are its hallmark. This cartographic masterwork brings to light the most important and relevant topics that grip our planet today. New maps cover regions of volatile civil strife, such as Afghanistan, Pakistan, and Iraq. World thematic spreads reveal freshwater scarcity, global warming, world economies, energy resources and consumption, and other critical trends. Dramatic ocean floor maps show more features and detail than any other atlas. Dynamic graphics and compelling visual stories cover the vital developments of our world in the reliable, authoritative, and innovative style that has made National Geographic a leader in the category.


$109.00
$59.00
National Geographic Atlas of the World - Platinum Edition with Case
National Geographic Atlas of the World - Platinum Edition with Case
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Atlases and Reference

For the first time ever, National Geographic is offering its Atlas of the World in a version so unique, so exclusive that only 2,000 will ever be created!


Available colors: Black, Navy
$999.00
National Geographic Atlas of the World - Platinum Edition without Case
National Geographic Atlas of the World - Platinum Edition without Case
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Atlases and Reference

For the first time ever, National Geographic is offering its Atlas of the World in a version so unique, so exclusive that only 2,000 will ever be created!


Available colors: Black, Navy
$799.00
National Geographic Kids Ultimate U.S. Road Trip Atlas
National Geographic Kids Ultimate U.S. Road Trip Atlas
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Kids Books and Atlases/Atlases and Reference

Keeping kids entertained while on a long drive can be a challenge, but the National Geographic Kids Ultimate U.S. Road Atlas can help. This book includes easy-to-read, simple road maps of each state and Washington, D.C., and a map of the United States. State symbols, cool things to do, boredom busters, fun facts, wacky roadside attractions, and games accompany the maps and provide engaging information with stunning photographs that will keep kids engaged for hours. In the back matter, a comprehensive index makes it easy for kids to look up names and places. To top it all off, everything is presented in colorful NG Kids style, allowing kids to learn as they ride and have a blast doing it!


$5.99
National Geographic 9th Edition Atlas of the World - Hardcover with Slipcase
National Geographic 9th Edition Atlas of the World - Hardcover with Slipcase
(Based on 43 reviews)
Category: Books/Atlases and Reference

Now, in its stunning Ninth Edition, the critically acclaimed National Geographic Atlas of the World reports and examines up-to-the-minute geopolitical and environmental changes through detailed, accurate maps and beautiful, engaging design that are its hallmark. This cartographic masterwork brings to light the most important and relevant topics that grip our planet today. New maps cover regions of volatile civil strife, such as Afghanistan, Pakistan, and Iraq. World thematic spreads reveal freshwater scarcity, global warming, world economies, energy resources and consumption, and other critical trends. Dramatic ocean floor maps show more features and detail than any other atlas. Dynamic graphics and compelling visual stories cover the vital developments of our world in the reliable, authoritative, and innovative style that has made National Geographic a leader in the category.


$175.00
$160.00
National Geographic Kids World Atlas, 4th Edition - Softcover
National Geographic Kids World Atlas, 4th Edition - Softcover
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Kids Books and Atlases/Atlases and Reference

National Geographic's classic atlas for kids is now fully revised and updated, in a smaller size that makes it easy to carry and easy to browse. Complete with geo-themed games, crosswords, picture puzzles, and more, this is the atlas for today's young explorers, as well as the perfect homework reference source.


$14.99
National Geographic Kids World Atlas, 4th Edition - Hardcover
National Geographic Kids World Atlas, 4th Edition - Hardcover
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Kids Books and Atlases/Atlases and Reference

National Geographic's classic atlas for kids is now fully revised and updated, with a reduced trim that makes it easy to carry and easy to browse. Complete with geo-themed games, crosswords, picture puzzles and more, this is the atlas for today's young explorers, as well as the perfect homework reference source.


$24.99
National Geographic Kids United States Atlas
National Geographic Kids United States Atlas
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Kids Books and Atlases/Atlases and Reference

The award-winning National Geographic Kids United States Atlas features lively maps, and graphics; updated essays and statistics; eight thematic map spreads on topics such as immigration, natural hazards, the water crisis, and the "greening" of America; same-size physical and political maps for each region for easy comparison; vibrant photo essays on each region and state; more than 350 full-color illustrations; 80-plus pages of National Geographic maps; 50-plus info graphics; updated state fact boxes; geo-whiz facts; state flags, birds, and flowers; comprehensive place-name index with coordinates for easy reference; and glossary of geographic terms.


$12.95
National Geographic Kids Student World Atlas, 4th Edition
National Geographic Kids Student World Atlas, 4th Edition
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Kids Books and Atlases/Atlases and Reference

The new fourth edition of National Geographic's award-winning Student Atlas of the World is more fascinating and fact-filled than ever, and has gone interactive with new digital extras, including scannable pages that link to photo galleries and quizzes. Dynamic, user-friendly content includes photos, facts, charts, graphics, and full-color political, physical, and thematic maps on important topics. From the cartographic experts at National Geographic comes the latest edition of its award-winning student atlas, with everything kids want and need to know about our changing world.


$12.95
National Geographic Atlas of the World, 10th Edition - Softcover
National Geographic Atlas of the World, 10th Edition - Softcover
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Atlases and Reference

Celebrating 100 years of award-winning National Geographic cartography, this exquisite new Tenth Edition of our prestigious World Atlas is the essential resource you need to make sense of our fast- paced, ever-hanging planet.


$119.95
National Geographic Atlas of the World, 10th Edition - Personalized
National Geographic Atlas of the World, 10th Edition - Personalized
(Got it? Rate it.)
Category: Books/Atlases and Reference

Celebrating 100 years of award-winning National Geographic cartography, this exquisite new Tenth Edition of our prestigious World Atlas is the essential resource you need to make sense of our fast- paced, ever-hanging planet.


$220.00
$189.95